THF announces 2018 Scott Weiss Scholarship recipients

The T. Howard Foundation (THF) is excited to announce the recipients of the 2018 Scott Weiss Scholarship, an annual merit-based award granted to eligible alumni of the Foundation’s Internship Program.

Now in its 19th year, the scholarship provides alumni financial assistance for their academic and career pursuits including tuition, textbooks and/or expenses related to career development, such as conferences and workshops that help prepare recipients for a career in the media and entertainment industry.

This year, THF awarded $15,000 in scholarships, with each recipient receiving $2,500. The Scott Weiss Scholarship is named after Scott Weiss, T. Howard Foundation founder and Chairman Emeritus. He is currently CEO and owner of Speakeasy, a THF host company.

Congratulations to our 2018 Scott Weiss Scholarship Award recipients (current institution, major, graduation year, THF internship host company and program year(s):

Betel Asfaha
Howard University, Information Systems, May 2019
Internship with NCTA,
  Beverly Danquah
St. John’s University, Communication Arts/ Journalism, May 2019
Internship with CNN, 2017 and MSNBC, 2018
Bria Hardin-Boyer
Columbia University, Global Thought, May 2019
Internship with Univision,
  Saqera Jones
Howard University, Sociology, May 2019
Internship with Comcast Corporation, 2018
Toni Walker
University of Pennsylvania, Communication, May 2020
Internship with NCTA,
  Michael White
Georgetown University, Linguistics, May 2019
Internship with Interpublic Group, 2018